Research Assistants

Research Staff

Matthew Meuler

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: mmeuler@wisc.edu

I completed my bachelor’s degree at UW-Madison in May 2023. In Fall 2022, my studies in neuroscience and human behavior led me to the SMAC Lab, where I reinforced my interests in the neural pathways behind speech production. My current work is focused on investigating the cerebellum’s role in controlling speech. As an aspiring medical student, I especially appreciate the bridge between our research and clinical application.

Undergraduate Research Assistants

Gabby Boydston

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: gboydston@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate senior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders, with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. After receiving my undergraduate degree, I am planning on pursuing a master’s degree in Speech Language Pathology.

Sadie Collar

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: sfcollar@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate junior majoring in Spanish and Linguistics, with a certificate in Teaching English as a Second Language (TESOL). I am particularly interested in speech planning and production, specifically in second language learning.

Emily Esser

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: esesser@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate junior at UW- Madison majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services and Education and Educational Services. After my undergrad, I plan to obtain my masters degree in Speech Language Pathology.

Hannah Goldman

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: hrgoldman@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate junior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders and Psychology with a certificate in Disability Services and Rights. After receiving my undergraduate degree, I plan to go to graduate school for speech pathology.

Ella Graham

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: eagraham5@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore at UW-Madison majoring in Neurobiology with a certificate in Health Policy. After undergraduate school, I plan to attend graduate or PA school to pursue a career in medicine.

Andrea Hansen

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: akhansen6@wisc.edu

I am a junior majoring in neurobiology and plan to attend medical school after graduation.

Tessa Jester

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: tjester@wisc.edu

I am a junior at UW-Madison majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. I plan to become a Speech and Language Pathologist and work with preschool-elementary school aged kids after graduation.

Olivia Kider

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: okider@wisc.edu

I am a junior at UW-Madison majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders with certificates in Disability Rights & Services and Arts & Teaching. I plan to become a clinical Speech-Language Pathologist, and possibly specialize in vocal health and performance.

Ellie Kraichely

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: kraichely@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate senior at UW studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with hopes of pursuing a career in speech pathology.

Kerry Lannon

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: klannon@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate junior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders and Spanish. I plan to attend graduate school to earn my doctorate of audiology.

Brooke Mathews

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: bomathews@wisc.edu

I am a junior undergraduate studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. I plan to attend grad school to study speech pathology.

Emma Meyer

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: emmeyer7@wisc.edu

I am an undergraduate senior majoring in Neurobiology with certificates in French and Global Health. After graduation, I hope to attend medical school.

Riva Moradia

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: rmoradia@wisc.edu

I am a junior majoring in Neurobiology. I plan on attending medical school after receiving my undergraduate degree.

Henry Nomeland

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: nomeland@wisc.edu

I am a senior undergraduate student studying Statistics and Data Science. I have particular interests in the areas of speech recognition, computational linguistics, speech sciences, and dialectology.

Rachael Schneck

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: rschneck2@wisc.edu

I am a second-year student pursuing a B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders. I am also planning on graduating from the College of Letters and Science honors program. When I graduate, I am either going to apply for graduate school to become a speech and language pathologist, or PA school.

Josh Silverman

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: jnsilverman4@wisc.edu

I am a senior at UW-Madison majoring in biochemistry and plan to pursue a career in medicine. I am specifically interested in neural circuits and how they interact to produce speech and motor functions.

Autumn Smith

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: aesmith32@wisc.edu

I am a senior at UW-Madison studying Neurobiology, Psychology, and Communication Sciences and Disorders. After my undergrad, I plan to complete my masters in Speech Language Pathology and later pursue a career as a clinical Speech Language Pathologist.

Elle Stussy

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: estussy@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. After my undergrad, I plan to work towards my masters degree in speechlanguage pathology. I am particularly interested in working with children. 

Gracie Turner

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: glturner@wisc.edu

I am a senior majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. I plan to pursue a career in research and speech pathology. I am particularly interested in neurodegenerative disorders and their impacts on speech production.

Gabby Weis

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: grweis@wisc.edu

I am a sophomore at UW-Madison majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders with a certificate in Disability Rights and Services. I plan to become a Speech-Language Pathologist and work with elementary aged kids.

Katie Zettel

Position title: Research Assistant

Email: klzettel@wisc.edu

I am a senior undergraduate majoring in Communication Sciences & Disorders and completing certificates in Disability Rights and Services, Education and Educational Services, and Leadership. I am pursuing a career in Speech-Language Pathology.